The Evil Uncle

I want ‘Guns of Brixton’ on vinyl

Posted in Uncategorized by bandsxbass on January 26, 2009

It took me a while to get into The Clash.

I’ve always have musical links to Ska, Punk, Reggae and Britpop, but I was put off by the song ‘Should I Stay Or Should I Go’ as it was just too cheesetastic for me. I distinctly remember being in some shit indie student club in London, being coerced into dancing to that tune, as it was supposedly ‘indie’ or ‘punk’. Snakebite in hand of course.

That song is not what I would define as neither Indie or Punk. I like the tune ‘Rock The Casbah’ but always regarded it as very much a party tune, that I would play out when DJing, but not really take seriously because Will Smith sampled it.

I recently read the biography of the bassist from The Specials, which I thoroughly recommend – it’s called ‘Ska’d For Life’ – a very honest account of the life that they led, being courted by major labels, touring Japan and America etc.

Anyway, Horace Panter (the bassist) documents his days being affected by (but not actually touring with) The Clash. I thought I would check them out again. I glad I did. If there was any band I would like to compare ourselves with (my band http://www.myspace.com/popesofchillitown) then at this moment in time, 26th Jan 2009, then they would it.

But yet all the vinyl I’ve been looking at online has been really expensive, like £200 plus, so i guess the Defectors Weld in Shepherds Bush, London UK, where I play songs at, will have to do with shitty mp3 burns of Guns Of Brixton. Sorry West London!

Anyway, its now 2am and I should really get some sleep, big week ahead with bands in town this week.

safe

austen xthe-clash

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. danfangdango said, on February 25, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    jubba jubba.


Leave a Reply

