The Evil Uncle

Frank Turner

Posted in Uncategorized by bandsxbass on October 11, 2009

So it’s probably not very cool to like Frank Turner, but then it’s probably not cool to like Garbage either. But I love them both.

Below is probably my favourite song at the moment. Frank Turner used to be in a punk band called Million Dead. I don’t know much about them, but you can really tell he’s from a punk background in the lyrics. They are so honest and dry but also uplifting. Many of his lyrics are about giving up teenage dreams, but not losing your ideals, something that as a 25 year old, I really respect. Another theme he touches on is the bullshit student political scene, again something that I totally experienced and got pissed off with.

I have my ideals, and political beliefs, but just don’t feel they were/are represented by a bunch of dudes with dreadlocks throwing ‘charity parties’ in some shit bar in Nottingham. Things like DEMO in Nottingham are doing well to promote cool indpendent music, but let’s face it, they aren’t changing the world. Nor are another of my favourite ‘hippy’ bands like TRYO, but they still rule and have lyrics about relevant things.

I don’t know where I’m going with this. Anyway, here’s my favourite song at the mo:

And here’s the song about politics/disillusion that I really relate to.

“Punk Rock didn’t live up to what I’d hoped that it could be”

“Idiot fucking hippies in fifty different factions”

Leave a Reply

